Sunday, September 27, 2015

Kings and Queens of Scotland

843-858 Kenneth MacAlpin House of Alpin
858-862 Donald I House of Alpin
862-877 Constantine I House of Alpin
877-878 Aedh House of Alpin
878-889 Eochaid House of Alpin
889-900 Donald II House of Alpin
900-943 Constantine II House of Alpin
943-954 Malcolm I House of Alpin
954-962 Indulf House of Alpin
962-966 Dubh House of Alpin
966-971 Culen House of Alpin
971-995 Kenneth II House of Alpin
995-997 Constantine III House of Alpin
997-1005 Kenneth III House of Alpin
1005-1034 Malcolm II House of Alpin
1034-1040 Duncan I House of Dunkeld
1040-1057 Macbeth House of Dunkeld
1057-1058 Lulach (The Fool) House of Dunkeld
1058-1093 Malcolm III Canmore House of Canmore
1093-1094 Donald III (Donald Bane) House of Canmore
1094 Duncan II House of Canmore
1094-1097 Donald III (Donald Bane) House of Canmore
1097-1107 Edgar House of Canmore
1107-1124 Alexander I House of Canmore
1124-1153 David I House of Canmore
1153-1165 Malcolm IV House of Canmore
1165-1214 William I House of Canmore
1214-1249 Alexander II House of Canmore
1249-1286 Alexander III House of Canmore
1286-1290 Margaret ('Maid of Norway') House of Canmore
1290-1292 Interregnum
1292-1296 John Balliol House of Balliol
1296-1306 Interregnum
1306-1329 Robert I (The Bruce) House of Bruce
1329-1371 David II House of Bruce
Aug-Dec 1332 Edward Balliol (also for periods 1333-1346) House of Balliol
1371-1390 Robert II House of Stewart
1390-1406 Robert III House of Stewart
1406-1437 James I House of Stewart
1437-1460 James II House of Stewart
1460-1488 James III House of Stewart
1488-1513 James IV House of Stewart
1513-1542 James V House of Stewart
1542-1567 Mary, Oueen of Scots House of Stewart
1567-1625 James VI (James I of England 1603-1625) House of Stuart

Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Kings and Rulers of Wales

825-844 Merfyn Frych (Merfyn the Freckled) Lord of Gwynedd
844-878 Rhodri Mawr (Rhodri the Great) Lord of Gwynedd
878-916 Anarawd ap Rhodri Lord of Gwynedd
916-942 Idwal Foel (Idwahl the bald) Lord of Ceredigion
942-950 Hywel Dda ap Cadell (Hywel the Good) Lord of Ceredigion
950-974 Iago ab Idwal Lord of Ceredigion
974-985 Hywel ab Ieuaf (Hywel the bad) Lord of Gwynedd
985-986 Cadwallon ab Ieuaf Lord of Gwynedd
999-1005 Maredudd ap Owain Lord of Gwynedd & Dehuebarth
1005-1018 Aeddan ap Blegywryd Lord of Gwynedd & Dehuebarth
1018-1023 Llywelyn ap Seisyll Lord of Gwynedd & Dehuebarth
1039-1063 Gruffydd ap Llywelyn Lord of Gwynedd
1081-1137 Gruffydd ap Cynan Lord of Gwynedd
1135-1137 Gruffydd ap Rhys Lord of Gwynedd
1137-1170 Owain Gwynedd ap Gruffydd Lord of Gwynedd
1170-1194 Dafydd and Rhodri ap Owain Lord of Gwynedd
1194-1240 Llywelyn ap Iorwerth (Llywelyn the Great) Lord of Gwynedd
1240-1246 Dafydd ap Llywelyn Lord of Gwynedd
1246-1282 Llywelyn ap Gruffydd (Llywelyn the Last) Lord of Gwynedd

Sunday, September 20, 2015

Kings of England

757-796 Offa
802-839 Egbert
839-856 Aethelwulf
856-860 Aethelbald
860-866 Aethelbert
866-871 Aethelred I
871-899 Alfred the Great
899-925 Edward the Elder
925-940 Athelstan
940-946 Edmund
946-955 Edred
955-959 Edwy
959-975 Edgar
975-978 Edward the Martyr
978-1016 Ethelred II the Unready
1016      Edmund Ironside
1016-1035 Cnut (Canute)
1035-1040 Harold I Harefoot
1040-1042 Harthacanut
1042-1066 Edward the Confessor
1066       Harold II
1066-1087 William I
1087-1100 William II
1100-1135 Henry I
1135-1154 Stephen
1154-1189 Henry II
1189-1199 Richard I
1199-1216 John
1216-1272 Henry III

Thursday, September 17, 2015

Turnbull's turn

The moment we've been waiting for, Malcolm Turnbull is Prime Minister

Saturday, September 12, 2015

Down tools

Sheffield Wool Shear Workers Union. If it sounds like we've come full circle, the wool shear workers were sheer in number, just nine members making it the smallest ever trade union. It was disbanded.